Worlds Toughest Rodeo: Raleigh

Ask most of my friends and they will say I am not a ‘country’ girl! I don’t speak with an accent, own a pair of REAL cowgirl boots (even though I would love to) or drive an AWD truck. I do however, enjoy southern cooking, riding ATVs, listening (and singing along) to country music and anything Turquoise! My mother instilled great southern traits and my father’s family combated what they could with their Jersey roots. It was a tug of war with traditions growing up and while everyone respected each other’s Sunday pastimes, cultural differences were made very clear! To this day, I will never find my father counting down the days to deer season nor will my mother eliminate “y’all” from her vocabulary. In my opinion, it offers the finest mix of traditions a girl could every hope for!

This past weekend, after enjoying a fabulous steak dinner at Ruth’s Chris, I was able to dive into a bit of country culture while attending the World’s Toughest Rodeo in Raleigh, NC at the PNC Arena. I must say, the respect I have for the cowboy and cowgirl athletes is superior. The skill, diligence and bravery it takes to maneuver such amazing animals is beyond me…

Here is a sampling of our experience:

Hubby and I with a selfie getting cozy in our seats

Hubby and I with a selfie getting cozy in our seats

blogger-image-787260516

We had fantastic seats just two rows back from the announcer, A&E's and America's Got Talent finalist, Anthony Lucia

We had fantastic seats just two rows back from the announcer, A&E’s and America’s Got Talent finalist, Anthony Lucia

Little ones at just 5 and 6 years old ride sheep!

Little ones at just 5 and 6 years old ride sheep!

Yes, they are wearing helmets!

Yes, they are wearing helmets!

blogger-image-1414772866

blogger-image--1383652532

Had to love and see to believe...Whiplash the Cowboy Monkey!!!

Had to love and see to believe…Whiplash the Cowboy Monkey!!!

While some would argue Rodeo’s offer a fair share of pomp and pageantry, there is no denying the talent possessed by the contributing cowboys and cowgirls and the passion for the sport. I must say, you found a fan in me! Go Buck ’em Bronco!

Leave a comment